Angels, Miracles and Forest Lawn Memorial Park

Grandpa Elder loved a good joke.  The only problem, if there was one, was that he told the same ones over and over and over.  Didn’t matter if your were a stranger on the elevator or one of his beloved grandkids.  We use to go to Minnesota a lot to go fishing in the summers.  That was the best time for his joke:

What did the grasshopper say when it hit the car window?…I’ll never have the guts to do that again.

Then there was his favorite golfer joke: 

Why did the golfer where two pants?…in case he got a hole in one.

Then, of course, whenever we drove past a cemetery:

How many dead people are there?…they’re all dead!

I never saw Grandpa do any type of exercise, but he would sit in his chair and lift himself up and say “How old do you have to be to do this?”

What a great time we always have reminiscing about his jokes.  I had the privilege of spending a lot of  my childhood at Grandma and Grandpa’s house over the weekends.  Probably my parents often needed a break  from me?  Who knows, they’re not here now for me to ask so I can only imagine that I might have been a handful.  My other Granny called me “high strung.”  I remember looking that up one time and it meant easily exciteable.  I’m sure I was/am!  So back to Grandpa.  He use to come up from behind me and play with my hair.  Just gently teasing me.  Now when I feel that same sensation and I think there is no one behind me, I smile 🙂 and know that Grandpa is sending me a sign.

God bless you for taking the time to read this post.  Have an awesome, joyful and fun-filled day full of belly laughing.  I know I will!

Comments on: "Grandpa Elder was a comedian and we all loved him so." (3)

  1. My brother remembers stuff from our childhood that I have no recollection of. He says Grandma and Grandpa use to line of the grandkids and give us all a shot of wine to make us sleep. Now I have no recollection of that whatsoever. I think either my bro is making this up or he drank my share.

  2. One I forgot –
    VIA Sharon:
    How about the Scottish football cheer Get that quarterback!

Leave a comment